This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wrongful Termination South Carolina

I was wrongfully termminated from my South Carolina Job I wrote a letter to the General Manager to explain the exact situation that was at hand. I will copy it to the post

To Whom This May Concern:

Hello (employer),

I was currently employed to the (employer) site in Columbia, South Carolina. I realized that the way this company was functioning was not expected for (employer). I found that the supervisors were so unprofessional. I am a young newly graduate that was seeking great manufacturing and industrial experience. I have a Bachelor’s of Science Degree in Industrial Technology and I really wanted to acquire good experience from the company but I feel as if I was cheated. I was terminated from the company for being five minutes late. I signed the terms in the employee handbook. I also expected the company to actually go by the terms in the (employer) HandBook. The Handbook reads as follows: Tardiness/Absenteeism: 1st Event- After 3 occurrences- Verbal Warning issued, 2nd Event- After 4 occurrences- Written Warning issued, 3rd Event- After 5 occurrences- 3 Day “Think Period” without pay, 4th Event- After 6 occurrences- Termination. It says that the company would consider recognizing circumstances beyond your control. The unprofessional supervisor approached me after I arrived at work five minutes late, and told me that tardiness isn’t accepted and he had to let me go. Me being a knowledgeable person of the HandBook that they gave to me as an employee, I knew that this was not accurate. I was caught in a small traffic hold-up that caused me to be delayed by ten minutes. I truly don’t know if racism, discrimination, or bad codes of ethic was presented but it was truly wrong. Unlike other employees, I was eager to learn all the concepts that were available to learn rather than just work for a “paycheck”. Everyone has their own reasons for working, and mine wasn’t