This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Termination question/ California

I am a corporate/commercial pilot. I was hired as a co-pilot to fly a jet for a health care company out of Sacramento. The 'chief pilot' (my immediate supervisor) was in charge of scheduling, maintenance, and logistics for the company. My job was to assist him with the operations of that aircraft. The airplane I was hired to fly had major mechanical problems that cause numerous delays and scrubbed flights. The owner of the airplane/company was furious at the delays and missed flights. The owner eventually fired the chief pilot and kept me as his co-pilot. My job description didn't change.
    The airplane continued to have mechanical difficulties (mostly due to the former chief pilot and his incompetence as a manager). The owner of the airplane continued to be irate at the continuing problems. Every time the airplane went down for maintenance, I would receive emails and text messages from the owner. Most of these emails were complaints about the down time and mean spirited in nature. Many I received during the evenings and weekeds.
    I announced to the company that my wife and I were having a child last fall and our daughter was born in early march of this year. My first chief pilot failed to find a contract replacement. I literally had to return to work 3 days after may daughter was born to fly the airplane. I had to leave my wife and newborn daughter in the care of a relative while I went back to work. The entire company, including the owner of the airplane, knew of my child's birth. They still demanded my presents at work.
    To make a long story short- the airplane continued to have mechanical problems and down time. The owner fired me over the phone last friday. His reason was I caused all of these problems even though I was never in a position of management nor could I make any decisions about the aircraft.