X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wrongful termination or Constructive discharge M.A. Massachusetts

Hi,

I'm concerned that my employer is trying to get rid of me because I challenged a review of my work by one of my supervisors.

Currently I work as a member of union in a call center in M.A. I have been told by previous supervisors that the Company does not expect me to plan for every contingency when coming to work and that if I was late three times to work it would be okay (understand I am not always late to work and my employer keeps ample records not just on me but from other people who work there.)

Earlier this month my car radiator broke and I had it fixed, but the new radiator that was installed was defective and burst open on my way to work, so I was late to work. And recently there was a three car pile up on interstate and I was again late to work. I and other people have had car problems before and it was not used them or me. I've also been late more than twice in one month and it not used against me. I also feel as if lately my employer has been unfairly criticizing my work and not holding others in the company to the same standards.

If I can get everyone else's stats in the call center and show that I am being unfairly punished/fired could I sue my employer for discrimination or wrongful termination, since he does not hold others to the same expectations.

Thanks to all who provide any insight.

Treating different employees differently is not illegal, unless the disparate treatment is based on a protected characteristic, such as your gender, religion, (sometimes) age, etc. or you have reported an alleged violation of law to the applicable regulatory authority.

The only recourse you would likely have is through your union, depending on what the contract says about tardies. Confronting your supervisor is a good way to get fired; it's called insubordination.