This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• terminated with dr note Michigan

Can I be terminated from my job because I am off for a week under Dr care for mental health reasons? If so, would I be eligible for unemployment. I do not think that my employer falls under FMLA.

If FMLA does not apply, then you are not guaranteed leave just because you have a doctor's note. How many employees are there?
    I post with the full knowledge and support of my employer, though the opinions rendered are my own and not necessarily representative of their position. In other words, I'm a free agent.

Comment

not positive...its medical medical office with 3 locations..drs are also employees..it is probably between 35-50

Comment

It makes a world of difference. For FMLA to apply, there must be 50 employees for at least 20 weeks of the previous year, within a 75 mile radius.

This assumes you also qualify in that you have been there at least 12 months and have worked 1250 hours in the past year. And that you have a serious health condition as defined by the regs. Being taken off work for a week to treat severe anxiety would count. The doctor recommending you take a week off because you have been stressed lately would not.
        I post with the full knowledge and support of my employer, though the opinions rendered are my own and not necessarily representative of their position. In other words, I'm a free agent.

Comment

If you don't qualify for FMLA & are terminated, yes, you can file for unemployment ins. It will be up to the state to decide whether you will receive it or not.
          Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around. Leo Buscaglia

Live in peace with animals. Animals bring love to our hearts and warmth to our souls.

Comment

Outside of FMLA, a doctor's note holds no force in law.