This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to hiring California

I am new to the hiring field. I work for an Inventory company and am responsible for all the recruiting and hiring in my office. I do okay with the recuiting part but am struggling when it comes to the interview process. I tend to forget the questions I ask. I also feel like I should be asking more. Any suggestions would be greatly apprieciated.

Larissa

It is hard to advise you as we don't know what you are currently asking. Are you having problems with the candidates you hire or realizing after the fact that there are things you should have asked about but didn't?

I'd suggest typing up a list of the questions you want to ask candidates before your next interview and take it with you to the interview. That way, you aren't trying to remember what you wanted to ask about in the middle of the interview. I'd also take notes during the interview.

Interviewing is a skill and if you are not comfortable with this part of the job, I'd look into training on interview techniques. Any of the national training companies out there will have sessions on this.
    I post with the full knowledge and support of my employer, though the opinions rendered are my own and not necessarily representative of their position. In other words, I'm a free agent.

Comment

Thanks for replying so quickly!

Right now, I ask 3 main questions

1. Tell me about your last position, what were your responsibilities?

2. Tell me about a time you had to work with a group to get a project completed. What was your role and how was the outcome?

3. What is the worst thing your last employer would say about you.

Generally our companies interviews are only suppose to last 10-15 min.

At the conclution, I let them ask me any questions they want related to the position. Then I either offer them the position or let them know we will call them.

Comment

What are your strengths?

What are your weaknesses?