This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• wrongful termination Washington

I was a retail manager who got fired for breach of a code of ethics policy.
    Specifically, I accepted a wedding gift (as I recently married) from a customer worth around $80. Though, the policy states that I AM allowed to accept gift of nominal value (though anything valued $100 or more requires corporate approval), the policy also states that I cannot accept any gift that could create or APPEAR to create an obligation to the donor may NOT be accepted.

I understand that they can fire me for suspicion alone and not be wrongful in my termination.

My question is:
    If co-workers of mine had actions equal in suspicion (for accepting gifts), that corporate WAS aware of.... and these employees were not fired...
    Is that wrongful termination?

If 10 people behave exactly the same and only I am penalized severly, I feel as though I am being discriminated against over them.

Can anybody enlighten me?

There's a lot more to this case, for which I believe most of would help my case.
    (possible defamation of character)
    However, if based on the imformation I provided above I do not have a strong case it is all likely a mute point.

FYI: I am 62 years old, and my on the job performance was not an issue as I had never once been in previous trouble or recieved any warnings, called in sick 0 times in nearly 8 years, and all of my annual performance reviews were outstanding and my store was performing at the highest level since it opened in the 90's.
    Last edited by joeshaney; 08-01-2011, 01:26 PM. Reason: typo

Comment

This was not a wrongful termination.

The employer does not have to treat all employees the same way, I'm afraid.

I also see no illegal discrimination.

Sorry.

Comment

It would not be illegal discrimination unless you were discriminated against due to
        a reason prohibited by law (ie age, religion, gender...).