Complete Labor Law Poster for $24.95
from www.LaborLawCenter.com, includes
State, Federal, & OSHA posting requirements

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

North Carolina. is this discrimination? retaliation?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• North Carolina. is this discrimination? retaliation?

I'm an auto mechanic and I'm paid on a flat-rate pay scale. Last Saturday may 22 when I went in to work at 8 am I informed my manager I had to leave work at 1 pm which would give me 5 hrs on the clock with no lunch break. At 12:15 I finish the work assigned to me and stand around till 1 pm with nothing to do ,nothing assigned to me. At 1pm I clock out to leave , after clocking out my manager tells me "he needs me to stay" I ask him " why what's going on?" He tells me " business is going on " I ask " what do you need me to do" he says " I need you to stay and fix cars" I look and there is still no work assigned to me I inform him " I'm going to lunch and I won't be back." A week passes and as I'm clocking in at 8am sat may 29 he tells me to come to the back. Once there he gives me a notepad and instructs me to write a statement as to what happened the previous Saturday and to put my cell number on it and he would call me Tuesday with the outcome . I asked " are you suspending me from work?" He says yes. I do not have an attendance problem and as far as I can recall I've never even had a write-up. Other employees leave early and come in late all the time with no action taken against them. We went for months being forced to leave early so we wouldn't have overtime. Is this discrimination because im the only one ever punished for leaving early? Is it retaliation against me for leaving early? Is there any course of action for me to take ? Legal or otherwise.