X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Punishing by cutting hours from my day, but never others

Hi,
    In Illinois, Can a supervisor/employer remove 2 hours from an employee's day to punish them if he feels they cost the company money?
    I’m a driver, and I accidentally jumped in the wrong truck today because they switched the truck on me, and I agree I should have checked. So I ended up wasting about two hours, about 10 miles in gas. This is a large company, I'm an hourly non exempt employee. So my supervisor scratched my 7AM start time, and put 9:30AM as my start time.
    The reason I feel discriminated, is because the people in the warehouse who pick my orders everyday, are making very costly mistakes almost once a week. and my supervisor never says anything to them, or has ever taken hours from them.
    My supervisor is a different nationality then I, but is the same nationality as the people in the warehouse. I’m Caucasian. I have never jumped in the wrong truck before, I agree it was a careless mistake, but it was a first.