This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Short term disability quetions in Georgia Georgia

Had multiple Pulomonary embolisms, have been put on blood thinners to dissolve the clots which will take six months per my doctor. My doctor said I could return to work on light duty, BUT my employer/boss said he had NO light duty for me and that I should go on STD I am a heavy equipment technician for an Airline. So my doctor said I could return to work on full duty Mar 1 2011 when I'm off the blood thinners. Sedgwick only approved my std until Oct 15 2010, and included in the letter that after 12 weeks the airline could fire me for being out sick. What should I do now? The stress of having my employer threaten to fire me for an illness, much less having my Std company disregard my doctor is really upsetting. How is STD claims decided? Does the doctors opinion not matter at all? Why would anyone have STD insurance for 6 months when the company can just fire you afte 3 months? What should I do to protect my family and home?

They can. FMLA protects your job for 12 weeks only, per year. You'll have to check with your employer's HR Dept. to see how they define a "year" (there are several methods). That doesn't mean they will, only that they legally can. Are you a union member? If so, your union contract may provide additional time.

Short-term disability benefits would almost certainly continue, even after the 12 weeks, IF approved. When it gets closer to the first date, if they don't approve a longer period, you can appeal. You should have a copy of the disability plan document; read it carefully and ask HR or the insurance company itself if you have any questions. I take it you don't have long-term disability insurance also?
    Pattymd
    Last edited by Pattymd; 09-26-2010, 09:06 AM.
    I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment