This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Disability law Ohio

As a truck driver I am required to pass a physical every two years. If I fail the physical, say for high blood pressure, I cannot drive. My company offers a short term disability for 26 weeks, paid by the company, and long term disabililty which is paid for by me. My question is, if I refuse to take prescribed medication to lower my blood pressure, can my benefits be denied?

Only someone who has read your disability policy can answer that question. It is a matter of the insurance contract, not of law.
    The above answer, whatever it is, assumes that no legally binding and enforceable contract or CBA says otherwise. If it does, then the terms of the contract or CBA apply.

Comment

Agree with cbg, but let's look at the logic here.

If your condition can be controlled by medication, and you refuse to take it, why WOULD the insurance company pay? Not having ready the policy, I can't say, but I would think that the policy requires the individual to try to mitigate the condition. Doesn't make any sense otherwise.
      I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment

Of course this is all "what if", however, we have drivers here that are borderline high blood pressure, and they have personal issues with medication.

Comment

Wish I'd known that earlier. I don't do hypothetical.
          I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment

I don't know what type of personal issues you are talking about (ie religious, just don't like to take medication, side effects from the medication ....). If it is side effects, sometimes a change in medication will work.