X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• FMLA, EE's family member is out of country New Jersey

Hi All,

If you had an employee who needed FMLA to provide care to a spouse/parent/child who lived in a non-English speaking country, how would you go about getting the medical certification to prove it's FMLA and not a vacation?

Nancy

Been there, done that. I asked for a letter or note from the doctor to support the need for leave then got the letter translated if need be. Trying to explain the FMLA paperwork to a non-American doctor is like trying to teach a pig to sing, only slightly less sucessful.
    I post with the full knowledge and support of my employer, though the opinions rendered are my own and not necessarily representative of their position. In other words, I'm a free agent.

Comment

Oh that's great! You had it translated, ha! I love it.

Comment

All the time. The majority of my employees were foreign born and multi-lingual. Even with employees in 42 countries and originating from dozens more, I never found a single doctor who wasn't able to at least write a letter explaining the need for leave.
        I post with the full knowledge and support of my employer, though the opinions rendered are my own and not necessarily representative of their position. In other words, I'm a free agent.

Comment

free translation for med cert form

You can type/cut-paste the link to the dol page with the med cert form and have it translated to any language for free at http://babelfish.altavista.com/
          You will have to get it translated by someone once it is returned to you though.

Comment

Transaltion is a great idea however, Doctors outside the U.S. still wouldn't have a clue about FMLA.
            Somedays you're the windshield and somedays you're the bug.

Comment