X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• When asked to resign??/unemployment GA Georgia

I'm a newb, so bare with me please...

My spouse has had 2 brain surgeries in the past 6 months after years of trying to determine what the symptoms were hinting at. After two stints of 6 weeks on short term disability (through the state's insurance option...state employee) since the 2nd surgery and about 6 weeks in between those two periods where the symptoms had to be fought off just to remain at the workplace, we had a couple of meetings with her supervisor and the head of the department. The result of those meetings was that she would be allowed to go on medical leave without pay and claim STD a 3rd time but for a far longer period. During which, the position would be filled and job status would be determined upon returning from STD. About a week later the bosses and the head of HR (who was also in these meetings) did a 180 asking for a resignation stating they do not want to "ruin the employee professionally" by terminating. We asked for them to terminate to help with the unemployment process since we would not be able to file STD again.

The unemployment claim was denied because the job was resigned from rather than terminated and because it was considered "personal" and not job-related even though there are countless documents from SEVERAL physicians in different fields stating the job worsened the situation. The document we received denying the claim stated almost to the letter that exact reason as to why the it was denied, i.e. doing the job did not "worsen the condition" and that a doctor did not take the employee out of work. All of this is apparently determined in Georgia by a short phone call from the main office in Atlanta during which it had to be explained numerous times that the physicians wrote letters stating that work could not be performed else the condition worsen.

Did we make a mistake resigning and not waiting to be fired???