This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Was I wrongfully Terminated?

I worked as a case manager for several years. We had over 30 case managers in our office that routinelly took time off from work due to an illness, stress, or due to child birth. I had never taken any leave and had accumulated more time than most people in the office. From the day I started working there my Supervisor would constantly micro manage me more than anyone else in the office, and that is the main reason why I never took any leave because I was afraid to get behind on my work and was always trying to stay current; although that was impossible due to the excessive caseloads. Due to our excessive caseloads, it was common for us to make mistakes pertaining to our paperwork. Since I was primarily the person who was always at work, I ended up having to pick up the slack for those individuals that were out: meaning their cases would be given to those that were at work.

Now, I endured my Supervisor harrassing me; which was known by most people in the office. I filed a harrasment claim against him, and it was denied. After being audited five times in three months, when no one else was being audited at all, I became mentally exhausted, and did not feel well. I went to see my doctor and was diagnosis with acute stress disorder and depression, and was sheduled to see a therapist who confirmed my doctors's diagnosis and scheduled me to speak with a psychiatrist. My doctor had ordered me not to return to work and wrote me a note for my employer which indicated that I will be off from work for three weeks. I returned to work the next day and told my Supervisor that I was ill and was taking medical leave.