X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dated Check in California California

Hi
    Background: I am a piano teacher in California, I register my studio's name and also pay tax every quarter. I am a sole proprietor. Every month I collect personal checks from parents and deposit into my business account. I found that this is very troublesome, I ended up run to the bank up to 5 times per month because some parents pay late. Even I charge the late fee, they still pay late.

Plan to change:
    From September 2010 (a new school year), I like to change my policy.
    I like to ask all the parents to give me 10 checks with date such as 9/1/10, 10/1/10, 11/1/10, 12/1/10, 1/1/11, 2/1/11. 3/1/11, 4/1/11, 5/1/11, 6/1/11 up front on 9/1/10. In this case, I just have to go to bank one time to deposit all my income of the month on the 1st of every month so that I can pay my bills on time too.

Questions:
    Is this legal? Can I do this?

Thanks

Is it legal? It's not illegal. However, if I were the parent, I wouldn't do it. If I remember correctly from my business law class, when a check is issued, it is expected that it is immediately negotiable, regardless of the date on it. Plus, what if one of those checks comes back NSF? Your NSF charge would likely be more than what you would spend in gas and time to go to the bank every week.
    I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment

Gotta agree with Patty here. Legal or not, if my kid's piano teacher asked me to do this on Monday, my kid would have a new piano teacher on Tuesday.
      The above answer, whatever it is, assumes that no legally binding and enforceable contract or CBA says otherwise. If it does, then the terms of the contract or CBA apply.

Comment

Agree with other responders - doubt if parents would go for it.