Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Retro pay in FL

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    2

    Default Retro pay in FL

    Im a hourly employee in FL, I have been having a problem with getting my retro pay they owe me three weeks of retro pay from about a month ago. I had a wage incrsese for changing shifts and there were 3 pay periods befor my raise had shown up. I've been hearing that it will be on my next check for a month now what do I do?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    31,876

    Default

    If this is payroll, go over their head to HR.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    2

    Default

    I tried that tonight there reply was that the person who handles that is one maternady leave and no one else can do it, so anything else I can do?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    5,730

    Default

    So who is the next logical person to contact for assistance with this? There are other managers there than the person on maternity leave.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    37,134

    Default

    BTW, unless you have a bona fide, enforceable contract that says otherwise, they don't HAVE to make your raise retroactive at all.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    2

    Default

    This exact thing happened to me. When FL changed minimum wage (which I was making) from $2.13 to $3.13 for servers, I didn't get that dollar raise for 4 pay periods, despite making numerous requests. That was in May and I have yet to receive the retroactive pay. Now our company has new owners, and I don't know that they are going to pay it because that happened when the old owners were there and technically the old owners are the ones that owe me the money. Who can I go to about this? Talking to the accountant hasn't gotten me anywhere.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    31,876

    Default

    Minimum wage is one of the few employment laws in Florida, and one the Dept. of Workforce Innovation is mandated to enforce. For the failure to pay minimum wage, you can file a claim with them.

Similar Threads

  1. Overtime/Holiday pay with private employer
    By admala in forum Wage & Hour Laws - Minimum Wage Laws
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-16-2005, 08:47 AM
  2. Holiday Pay - Kentucky
    By reefland in forum Wage & Hour Laws - Minimum Wage Laws
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-09-2005, 05:18 AM
  3. W2 Contractor - can employer hold my pay?
    By brian9283 in forum Labor Laws
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-16-2005, 08:18 PM
  4. ca. firefighter denied holiay pay
    By shshare in forum legal discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-27-2005, 07:42 AM
  5. Fl. - Change in pay schedule
    By sandi in forum Labor Laws
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-22-2005, 10:02 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •