Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Age of Sexual Consent in South Carolina

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    1

    Exclamation Age of Sexual Consent in South Carolina

    What is the age for sexual consent in SC. I have seen three different ages beginning with 14, 15, and 16. My son is 18 and his girlfriend is 15. She thinks she may be pregnant. She said that her parents will 100% press charges on my son. I need info and advice. Please help.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    266

    Default

    *South Carolina*

    Although I cannot offer you legal advice, I can provide you an answer to your questions regarding the law. The South Carolina Constitution provides an answer to your question - no unmarried woman may legally consent to sexual intercourse unless they are at least 14 years old. Although this is in the state Constitution, 14 is not the ultimate age of consent. Recent changes in South Carolina law make it illegal for a person to engage in deviate sexual intercourse or sexual contact with a child under the age of 16 if that person is three years older than the child. According to that statute, if a child is between 14 and 16 years of age, they may consent to sexual intercourse with a person who is not three years older or under the age of 14. This law makes 16 the ultimate age of consent. However, it is against the law for a person over the age of 14 to commit or attempt a lewd act upon a child under the age of 16. There is also a "Fornication" law that makes it illegal for your son and his girlfriend to engage in sexual intercourse if they are not married. This law does leave a window of opportunity for district attorneys to prosecute those who violate it.

    Summary: After reading these laws, THEY LEAD ME TO BELIEVE THE FOLLOWING: If your son and his girlfriend are within three years of age, he cannot be prosecuted for sexual enticement of a minor unless they were engaging in deviate sexual intercourse or sexual contact before his girlfriend turned 14. He can, however, be prosecuted for Committing or Attempting a Lewd Act Upon a Child Under the Age of 16 and Fornication.

    Let me know if you have any questions...

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    5,926

    Default

    Age of majority is 18.
    To marry:
    South Carolina

    If you are under 18, you will need a certified copy of your birth certificate and a notarized statement of parental consent.


    The minimum age for a female is 14 and it is 16 for a male.

    There may be judicial bypass in place of notarized statement of parental consent.

    For information on teen pregnancy rights,
    http://www.jlc.org/home/mediacenter/...s/FAQTPAP.html

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    1

    Default age of consent

    Your post about the age of consent in SC was wrong then and wrong today.

    For a full discussion of the law go to
    http://forums.goupstate.com/eve/foru...&cf=6961098265

Similar Threads

  1. South Carolina UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE Labor Law Poster
    By laborlaw in forum South Carolina Labor Laws
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-24-2005, 02:55 PM
  2. South Carolina SAFETY AND HEALTH PROTECTION ON THE JOB Labor Law Poster
    By laborlaw in forum South Carolina Labor Laws
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-24-2005, 02:53 PM
  3. South Carolina Labor Law Posters
    By laborlaw in forum South Carolina Labor Laws
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-30-2005, 01:36 AM
  4. Are salaried non-exempt employees in South Carolina required to take lunch breaks?
    By momonimosimus in forum Wage & Hour Laws - Minimum Wage Laws
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-12-2005, 01:55 AM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-12-2005, 01:54 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •