Thread: Work in CA for a Pennsylvania Non-Profit California California California California

Lightbulb Work in CA for a Pennsylvania Non-Profit California California California California

I work full time in CA for PSU which is a non profit in PA. PSU HR just confirmed that they don't offer SDI or any voluntary benefits. Is there any way I can get SDI/PFL?

Thanks in advance!

Google is your friend http://www.edd.ca.gov/Disability/
    I post with the full knowledge and support of my employer, though the opinions rendered are my own and not necessarily representative of their position. In other words, I'm a free agent.

Thank you for that, but in reading it I believe I have to pay in to it to be eligible? I'd like to pay into it but to do so, I file a claim?

It's a tax that should be withheld from your paycheck. Even if your employer is in PA, if you are performing work for them in California, they should have registered to collect this tax from you and remit it on your behalf, if you are working for them as a W-2 receiving employee. (Note: if you are an independent contractor receiving a 1099, this would not apply).

Thanks ferretrick- Penn State said that California told them since they're a non-profit they don't pay the SDI, that's what HR told me atleast. Sound like something I should challenge/pursue?

Super Moderator

Approximately 13.1 million California workers are

covered by the SDI program. The law requires coverage for

employees working for employers with payrolls in excess

of $100 in a calendar quarter. There are a few exceptions.

Those specifically excluded are:

Some domestic workers.

Some governmental employees.

Employees of interstate railroads.

Employees of some nonprofit agencies.

Individuals claiming a religious exemption.

http://www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de8714c.pdf

Note some nonprofit agencies excluded for SDI. Also, you only qualify for PFL if covered by SDI.