Thread: Unemployment appeal process in Florida Florida

Default Unemployment appeal process in Florida Florida

Question about unemployment appeal process On 12-16-10 I had a telephone hearing. My "employer" appealed my unemployment. I have been receiving unemployment since October of 2009. "Employer" is stating I quit due to health reasons. I was laid off from my contractor. I worked for a contractor and was paid by a payroll company. When the job was completed, contractor laid me off. The payroll company is appealling my unemployment, not the contractor. Well "employer" NEVER SHOWED UP AT APPEAL. Decision was reversed on 12-17-10. I won. Then today I check website which is over three weeks later and a new hearing is scheduled. It states:
    request for rehearing granted 1/10/2011(tmrw) and this:Appeal Date 12/21/2010 Appellant CLAIMANT . I never requested a rehearing. Help!! I have been without a check since October of 2010. I also was receiving checks from Ocotber 2009 to October 2010 with no problems. UGH!
    Last edited by bsullivan; 01-09-2011 at 11:42 AM. Reason: spelling

Super Moderator

Tell the truth at your hearing. If you are looking for some guarantee that you will win, we can make no such guarantee. The employer has a right to appeal. They do not have a right to lie, but it is common for parties to lie in these hearing. The good news is that the Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) generally have heard this all before. And people whom the ALJ thinks are lying tend to lose.

1. Listen to the ALJ. The person who brasses off the ALJ generally loses. And not listening is a good way to brass of the ALJ.

2. Let the other side speak without interruptions. Interrupting just brasses of the ALJ.