Thread: working to much overtime Texas

Default working to much overtime Texas

I am a Juvenile Corrections Officer in the Texas Youth Commission, for the last 3 months I and my coworkers have been required to work 12 + hour shifts. We normally work 40 hours a week. We are salaried workers but get paid for overtime. We are currently working 54 plus hours a week, the job is stressful dealing with the incarcerated youth and some coworkers are suffering health issues; heart attacks, strokes, When we request time off, most of the time we do not get it. We consistently work 4 hours over into our day off and have to come in 4 hours early the next day. Is this legal, is there a required amount of time off between work periods? TYC also holds 80 hours of overtime back. They pay us any overtime over the 80 hours monthly. Is this legal?

Super Moderator

This is going to be a soft answer, because you have a governmental employer. You have two very different issues here.
    - Employers with very few exceptions can generally work any employee whatever hours the employer's want. What restrictions exists are generally for things such as minor children employees or airline pilots. I am not a TX expert or a governmental employer expert. I can say that governmental employers tend to have even weaker rules then private sector employers. And the private sector rules in this area tend to be very weak.
    - Paying overtime for governmental employers is complicated, but not in the way you describe. There is a potential "comp time" exception for governmental employers but it does not sound like what you describe. I will give you a pointer to the general local governmental employer rules, but what you are saying on the payment of overtime does not sound correct.
    http://www.dol.gov/whd/regs/compliance/whdfs7.pdf

Not your question, but are you union? If so, you really need to talk to your union. Your questions sound like the sorts of things I would expect a union contract to address.