Thread: NYS short term disability and FMLA leave questions New York

Default NYS short term disability and FMLA leave questions New York

Hi,
    I am a private school teacher in NYS. I am pregnant and I had severe complications over the summer. My dr. put me on disability when I had to go back to school on 8/31/09. My EDD is 10/29/09. My school still has not sent in the disability forms yet or fully communicated with me. I need information before I really start bugging them because they haven't been very honest in the past. I have several questions.

1. Can they force me to take FMLA starting on 8/31 along with disability? When I first told them, they told me I had to take both at the same time. Are they two separate things or do they have to happen at the same time?

2. One of the few things they have asked me about is the sick days I have accrued. If I use them, doesn't that mean I have been working during this time? I am unsure of what answer to give and how that will affect everything.

3. Are there any time constraints on filing short term disability?

4. Can I take FMLA after I have been on short term disability? My dr put down on the disability form that I am on it from 8/31/09-12/14/09. I would like to extend that so I am home with the baby for 3 months after I deliver.

Super Moderator

1. Can they force me to take FMLA starting on 8/31 along with disability? When I first told them, they told me I had to take both at the same time. Are they two separate things or do they have to happen at the same time?

FMLA is leave. Disabilty benefits are not leave; they are how you get paid while you are on leave. If you, the employer, and the medical condition all qualify for FMLA, then with limited exceptions they MUST apply FMLA. Neither you nor they have a choice under the law.