Thread: Salaried Employee in Illinois not getting paid

Default Salaried Employee in Illinois not getting paid

I am a National Account Manager for a small company in Illinois. I'm a salaried employee and do not receive overtime pay. Also, If I need to leave early or I am sick my pay is docked for the time I take off.

This past Thanksgiving I was told that the company was closed on Friday, the day after Thanksgiving, and I was not going to be paid for that day. A company choosing to close and not paying their employees just didn't seem right. So I asked if it would be possible to come in so I don't lose a day of pay and my boss just laughed and said "no".

Today I was told that my company is now closing down Dec 25 (for maintenance) and will not reopen until Jan 5. Again, I will not be paid, outside of Christmas Day and New Years Day.

I'm hoping that someone can tell me if this is legal? If not, where can I go for help? I have tried the Dept of Labor but that was a waste of time. They referred me to the Dept of Wage and Hour who told me I had the wrong area but could not tell me where else to go.

I've been fighting for pay since Memorial day when I was told that I would not be paid due to my probationary period not being over...all though at my start date 2 months earlier, I was never even told there was a probation period.

Also, I forgot to add...I was told that I would receive 5 day vacation after 1 yr, but was told I do not have any accrued time as of yet, 9 months into my job. That also doesn't seem right. Shouldn't I have some time in that can be used for company closings?

Please help!

Rob
    Last edited by rrailis; 12-04-2008 at 07:17 PM. Reason: Forgot to add something

Super Moderator

Salaried is only a pay method and means nothing by itself - it is exempt or non-exempt status that matters. Both exempt and non-exempt employees can be paid on a salaried basis.