Thread: Being on call/standby California

Default Being on call/standby California

I am a surgical nurse in California that must take call/stand by every week and some weekends. i get paid for that, while at home waiting to be called in.

Our housekeeper at work was just told she must take call every other weekend to serve our department, should we have surgeries. She must be available for the entire 48hours of each weekend and is not getting any pay for that. She does get paid for two full hours if she gets called in to clean up after our surgeries.

My question is if it is legal to require a person to be "on call" at home, without compensation? As a nurse, I certainly do. She is being asked to carry a pager for an entire weekend to be at our disposal to clean our OR rooms after any surgery. Is there a law that states she must be paid while on call?

Thanks for any info.
    Tamra

Super Moderator

There is no law in any state that requires an employee to be paid simply for being on call. Carrying a pager is not enough to make the time compensable.

What turns on-call time into compensable time is how restricted her time is. If she can go about her personal business with a pager in her pocket and has a reasonable time to respond to a call, that time does not have to be paid. If she is tied to the house, cannot leave the phone and must respond to a call within a few minutes, then she most likely would have to be paid.

The same applies to you, btw. If you get paid simply for being on call, that is very generous but is more than is required by law.

Default Standby pay

Hey Cbg,

Thanks for such a quick reply. I would hope that you might be an attorney that knows labor laws to the max. Here is a link to the Dept. of Industrial Relations that adds to my confusion since I have researched and still have questions: http://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/Wages.pdf