Thread: Is this considered discrimination Tennessee

Default Is this considered discrimination Tennessee

Is it job discrimination to make employees with the same job follow different rules?
    I work in the food service industry. I was told at work I was too slow and another employee was given my job--just days after the same boss commended me for doing such a great job. The other employee appears to be faster because she doesn't have to follow the same rules I was given to work under. For example, I was told it was against the health department to let food sit on a line without heat for any period of time. However, this other employee lines up at least 10 trays at a time so she can serve faster. When this was pointed out my boss said, "I don't care." I also washed my hands and put on new gloves as instructed after taking out garbage and returning to the line to serve food. This other employee NEVER washes her hands or changes gloves and can get back on the lines much quicker as a result. I feel I am being treated unfairly. Is this allowed by law? What can I do? I have thought about reporting this situation to the health department because I know what she is doing is against their regulations, but I can't afford to lose my job if my boss finds out. I am just wondering if it is also against EEOC guidelines. I am 52 and the other employee is 25. Thanks for any advice or help!

Super Moderator

There is nothing inherently illegal about two different employees treated differently unless the difference is based in (in other words, BECAUSE OF) your race, religion, national origin, or other characteristic protected by state, Federal or local law.

Other than performing different duties now, what adverse actions have been taken against you? Have you lost pay, a promotion, or your job?