Thread: Question regarding late paychecks Pennsylvania

Default Question regarding late paychecks Pennsylvania

I have been working for this particular company for almost 2 months now. I work as a caricature artist for an amusement park vendor at a park in Lancaster. Get paid biweekly on Tuesdays. The park I work at is a smaller park owned by (deleted), however the vendor I work for is not. Our paychecks arrive at (my location) in one large group and the woman above my manager is responsible for getting them to us. Let's call her E.

On the first pay period I worked, I didn't get paid. Paperwork wasn't cleared, not a huge deal. Second pay period rolls around, The paychecks aren't there. E calls my manager later and tells her she'll arrive on Saturday with the paychecks. Pay period after that lands on the 1st of July. My rent is due by the 3rd. E again calls to say she won't be in on Tuesday with the checks. She'd be there on Thursday at noon. I was off, but needed to pay rent, so I headed in to work to pick up my check. Surprise, surprise, E is not there when I arrive at 1. I waited around for about an hour and a half, then gave up and went home. E arrived at 4 pm. I worked close the next day (off at nine) so my check went in the bank at around 10 that night. Didn't clear till after the weekend and the check I sent my landlord just cleared yesterday, making my rent payment late.

Now, I am relying on this next check arriving on time, since I need the money for a weekend trip with friends, but I have no idea if I'll have the money.

Can she do this? Decide randomly that she doesn't want to come to Lancaster from (deleted) to pay us on time? Is there anything I can do besides harp on this woman to just mail the blasted things?
    Last edited by cbg; 07-13-2008 at 06:55 AM.

If the employer offers direct deposit, I suggest you enroll. Solves the problem for the future.