Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Baby bonding leave in California

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    8

    Default Baby bonding leave in California

    I have an employee that has been out 16 weeks for California PDL. She was not eligible for FMLA or CFRA because she had not been with the company for 1 year.

    She has now completed a year and wants to take baby bonding time. She gave 2 days notice and is asking for the full 12 weeks.

    Do I have a right to ask her to postpone the leave so that I can make arrangements for staff coverage? (As long as I allow her the full 12 weeks in one year of course.) Or am I stuck complying with her request on her terms?

    Also, could I ask her to take the leave intermittently, maybe two weeks now, return for 1 month, and then take the remainder of her time off?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    534

    Default

    Simple question first:
    Did she work at least 1250 hours in the last 12 months?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Yes, she met the hours requirement.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    378

    Default

    You can require that she give you 30 days notice for any forseeable leave. Certainly, baby bonding falls under this requirement. When I am in this situation, I usally tell the employee that I can treat their current leave request as notice and start their leave as early as 30 days from their request.

    The employer MAY waive the 30-day notice requirement but does not have to.

    If she told you 2 days ago (May 11, 2008), I would offer to start her leave on June 10, 2008.

    Remember, her bonding leave must be completed by her child's first birthday.

  5. #5

    Default baby Bonding??

    I have never heard of FMLA for baby Bonding time. Is this for real? On top of other CA leave? Really?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    378

    Default

    Yep...and California's version of FMLA is CFRA. Interestingly enough, CFRA specifically precludes pregnancy as a serious health condition. That means that you can run PDL and FMLA concurrently, but NOT CFRA. This allows most employees to BEGIN the 12-week clock at the conclusion of maternity leave.

    The only exception is when one exhausts all pregnancy leave under PDL. You can start CFRA at the time of birth which begins the 12 weeks upon birth, instead of at the time of recovery.

Similar Threads

  1. Is this legal Connecticut
    By scottb908 in forum Connecticut Labor Laws
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-28-2010, 08:29 PM
  2. California - Terminated just before family leave California
    By DiVo in forum Maternity Leave - Pregnancy Laws
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-29-2008, 10:54 PM
  3. What Voluntary Contributions are allowed for the 2005 tax year? California
    By qacrawler in forum California State and Federal Tax Law
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-03-2006, 10:08 PM
  4. 'Don't leave your baby without a history'
    By LilMtnCbn in forum Adoption Law
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-02-2004, 10:26 AM
  5. TX - Firefighters rescue another 'Baby Moses'
    By BabySafeHaven in forum Adoption Law
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-02-2004, 07:15 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •