Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Supervisor Lied to Get Me Terminated (Nevada)

Default Supervisor Lied to Get Me Terminated (Nevada)

I worked for a nonprofit organization that receives annual funding from the government. I had an employment agreement. Although it specifically stated my employment was at-will, it also stated my period of employment was one year (program year). My salary was stated in annual dollars. And, my position is budgeted on an annual basis.

I was a manager. My supervisor was the Director. All terminations must be approved by our Board of Directors. I don't believe our BOD would approve a no-cause termination in the middle of a program year... especially a manager sitting in a mission-critical position.

The facts. I was terminated for cause. The reasons listed in my termination letter were outrageous and completely false. I appealed the termination and a hearing was convened by the Board of Directors, who subsequently upheld the termination. During the hearing I satisfactorily proved that all of the reasons given were false. However, this appears not to have made a difference.

I have since learned that my position was never filled after my departure. I now believe, since I know the Director was in deep trouble with exceeding our budget, that she actually wanted to eliminate me to save money and her own job. I can't say whether the BOD conspired with her nor whether they were completely aware of our budget crisis.

I would have settled for a no-cause discharge and, perhaps, a small severance. But now she has destroyed my reputation, cost me an excellent reference, and created a difficult financial period with the lack of notice.

I could easily prove in court that my boss lied. Do I have a valid complaint? If you would like more specifics, such as what my boss lied about, please post your request and I will elaborate.

Thanks. Harry

Have you asked to be heard by the BoD?