I have been trying to find answers to some questions I have regarding the law for the 30 minute rest break in Maine. I've read through the Government labor law page and contacted them several times with the questions but no one EVER responds. Very frustrating! I have tried to research this and can pretty much only come up with: employers in Maine must "offer" employees who work more than 6 hours a 30 minute, unpaid lunch break. My questions on this include: can employers force employees to take this break? Can employers dock employees pay if they do not take the break? Is there a waiver that the employee can sign? Can an employee be fired for not taking this unpaid break?
My work schedule starts at 4:30 in the morning and I work 7 hours a day, 35 hours a week. I find it is pretty pointless to work an extra half hour to take an unpaid "lunch" break when I am home by noon. I get 2 15 minute breaks and that is plenty for me.
I appreciate anyone who can help me with my specific questions. I saw the other post here about the lunch breaks but the links listed there only took me to the pages I've already been and don't answer my specific questions.