Thread: 15 year old - emancipation?

Exclamation 15 year old - emancipation?

Hey all, I've been researching emancipation for a few reasons and I wanted to get second opinions on what a judge would say...

1. I have 1 parent that can't hold a job
    2. I live in a house with my grandmother (who pays the bills) and my mom who sits on the couch all day
    3. I'm a web designer that has worked with companies based here in san diego
    4. I have 4 years in programming experience
    5. I can hold my own when it comes to cooking, cleaning, transportation

Is there anything really that I need to look into also?

My argument is this: My mom doesn't seem to understand that I'm 15, I'm her son, and that not everything I say is against her. I'm well aware that this makes it look like that I just hate my mom, it's more than that. She holds things from me until it's convenient to unleash it on me. For example, we just had a large argument... and at the peak of it, she throws out "We're moving". Yah, thanks for asking me mom.

She hasn't had a job in 1 year now, and before when she had a job (for 1 year only), we lived in oregon on pawn shops, food tickets, and her friend. And on top of all of this, she supports nothing I do but band...

Suggestions wanted please...

In California, you cannot be emancipated without your parent's permission. If Mom doesn't want you emancipated, you cannot be.

The fact that your Mom has no job really doesn't mean anythng. You do have a home, and, presumably, all of your necessities taken care of. The fact that you and your Mom live with your grandmother does not mean much.