Thread: Sunday Time and One Half pay Massachusetts

Default Sunday Time and One Half pay Massachusetts

I work in retail as an Assistant Store Manager being paid hourly. Since I was hired there have been 8 or more employees at my store. I work every Sunday, but my fellow hourly paid workers and I are not paid Time and One Half pay on Sundays. I've looked at the Mass Blue laws site as well as the Attorney General's site. When I went to my boss with this he called the Attorney General's office and claims he was told that in order for a business to be obligated to pay Time and One Half pay on Sundays, 8 or more employees must work on any given day during the week. The way I have come to understand it is that a business must only employ at least 8 workers during the week and not that at least 8 employees work on the same day.

I e-mailed the AG's office because I will obviously need it in writing if I go to my boss again but they refuse to reply with any info and ask that I call their hotline. Can someone please clarify this law for me. Also, If I am correct can somebody guide me to where I can get it in writing.

From the web site of the Massachusetts Attorney General

any store that employs more than seven people, including the proprietor, on any day throughout the week, shall compensate all non-exempt employees time and one half for work performed on Sunday.

http://www.ago.state.ma.us/sp.cfm?pageid=1113
    Last edited by ScottB; 11-29-2006 at 02:19 AM.
    Senior Professional in Human Resources and Certified Staffing Professional with over 30 years experience. Any advice provided is based upon experience and education, but does not constitute legal advice.

As I stated, I've been to the site. However, someone in the AG's office is saying that is not the law and that 8, not 7, employees must work, not just be employed, on a given day during the week. Everything else I read seems to contradict this though.

Quote Originally Posted by cmcatena View Post