I found a civil code (California Civil Code Section 1946.5b) that says if a single lodger in a private residence refuses to leave after the 30 day notice expires then the owner can call law enforcement out to have them removed for trespassing.
I have been a long term resident renting a house with a written agreement with the owner. I have permission to sublet a room. So in this case I am the owner/landlord to my subtenants.
I have decided to end the short term (3 months) verbal agreement to rent a room to a lodger. I have issued a written 30 day notice expiring at the end of this month. The lodger insist that CA law allows him 60 days giving him until the end of December.
Can I use the "lodger law" from above and have law enforcement remove him, or do I have to go through the formal eviction process? Or is there another way to do this? (see California Civil Code Section 1946.5d)