Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Learner's Wage California

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    5

    Default Learner's Wage California

    I work at a coffee shop in California that employs mostly highschool students, most under the age of 18. My employer starts every person under the age of 18 at the wage of $5.75 an hour, which is 85% of minimum wage, which is the legal learners salary in california. However, the law states that a person may only be paid this wage up to 160 hours of work in an occupation in which the employee has no previous experience, which none of our employees do.

    Our boss works every employee under 18 at 5.75/hr for FAR over 160 hours. I figured that I have roughly worked 240 hours at that pay. I asked my boss for documentation of this, but she gave me a list of excuses and said "I'll get to it".

    Am I missing something? Or is this illegal.


    Grace in California

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    37,592

    Default

    Duplicate post

Similar Threads

  1. need advice!!!!! California California
    By Paula J in forum Family Law
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-17-2007, 06:32 AM
  2. Wage question- California California
    By laurabelle1966 in forum Wage & Hour Laws - Minimum Wage Laws
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-08-2006, 10:32 PM
  3. I am currently, or was, in the military. Do I have to file a California return? California
    By qacrawler in forum California State and Federal Tax Law
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-03-2006, 12:45 AM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-30-2006, 02:51 AM
  5. need advice!!!! California California
    By Paula J in forum California Family Law
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-18-2006, 05:22 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •