Thread: NY child support New York

Default NY child support New York

This is my situation.
    I have been paying $1250 in support a month. My new employer was notified 8 months ago to garnish my paycheck but since I am new to the company I called Child support services and explained to them I will make the payments on my own. I have been making payments every month (as hard as it is) faithfully. I went to family court for a downward modification since I was finding it very hard keeping my own expenses up. The decision came back 5 months later saying I owe 14,000 in arears for when I was unemployed in 2004. I didnt know I was supposed to go to court when I was unemployed and had agreed with my ex that I couldnt make the payments. My fault in that. I payed my september payment of $1250 and child support and child support had moved their offices so my office manager couldnt get in touch with the person she was talking to that I was on time with my payments. So the arrears was tacked onto the payments and increased them to 2,000 a month. Now my office manager is garnishing my check $458 weekly leaving me with $495. My monthly take home is now $1980.00 a month with rent of $1400 a month. Car payments of 412.00+140 cable+190 credit settlement+270 train tickets to get to work+food of 250 a month totals to -862 a month. My take home before all this was $3800 a month. Am I eligable for a adjustment for the arears which I am apealing? I spoke to my ex wife and she understands my situation and has agreed to lower my support payments. How do I go about this?