Each case bears the initial(s) of the assigned judge in the case number:

SM = Chief Judge Steven J. McAuliffe
PB = District Judge Paul J. Barbadoro
JD = District Judge Joseph A. DiClerico, Jr.
JM = Magistrate Judge James R. Muirhead All civil and criminal actions are assigned by a random selection process in order to ensure that the identity of the judge is not disclosed before the case is officially filed.