Thread: Is it legal for car dealer to charge doc fee?

Default Is it legal for car dealer to charge doc fee?

I went with a friend to buy a car. When it comes time to pay at the finance
    department, the contract contains a $35 doc fee that was never mentioned
    before. According to state law, the doc fee must be

"disclosed in writing to a prospective purchaser or lessee before the
    execution of a purchase and sale or lease agreement"

complete text is in section 2b here:
    http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.70.180

So when the fee finally appeared in the contract, is this considered "before
    the execution of a purchase agreement"? It feels more like *during* the
    execution of a sales agreement, but I'm no lawyer.

How do you define "before the execution of a purchase agreement"? Is it
    before the form is shown? Before it is signed? Before we entered the finance
    department?

>I went with a friend to buy a car. When it comes time to pay at the finance
    department, the contract contains a $35 doc fee that was never mentionedbefore. According to state law, the doc fee must be "disclosed in writing to a prospective purchaser or lessee before the execution of a purchase and sale or lease agreement" complete text is in section 2b here: http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.70.180 So when the fee finally appeared in the contract, is this considered "before the execution of a purchase agreement"? It feels more like *during* the execution of a sales agreement, but I'm no lawyer. How do you define "before the execution of a purchase agreement"? Is it before the form is shown? Before it is signed? Before we entered the finance department?
    Ask a lawyer (because I'm not one) if they mean by "execute" that the
    contract is signed.