Need advice for obtaining a Prescriptive Easement California

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need advice for obtaining a Prescriptive Easement California

Hi Everyone, I've owned land in Aerial Acres, CA (Kern County) for over 5 years now and would like a prescriptive easement. Please let me know if I can do this without lawyer's fees and fill out the necessary forms. I want to have legal access to the land I've been crossing over for several years (which doesn't have signs warning of private property) and get building permits. What are some pitfalls I need to watch out for concerning the judge? and where can I obtain the forms to apply for a "prescriptive easement" for California. Thanks for your time.

-Adam
    Last edited by Adam1; 03-20-2013, 01:34 PM.

California has strict requirements for adverse posession/prescriptive easements.

Adverse possession is the process in which someone acquires ownership of another's land. The claimant must prove: (1) possession under claim of right or color of title;
    (2) actual, open, and notorious occupation of the premises constituting reasonable notice to the true owner;
    (3) possession which is adverse and hostile to the true owner;
    (4) continuous possession for at least five years; and
    (5) payment of all taxes assessed against the property during the five-year period.

Can you meet all of these requirements?
    I am not an attorney, and don't play one on TV. Any information given is a description only and should be verified by your attorney.

Comment

A great place to start thanks!