New Fed OT Regulation vs. State Regulation

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Fed OT Regulation vs. State Regulation

I am an electrical engineer who normally "contracts" my services for short term assignments (2 to 6 months typical) in various states for different employers.

I am starting to evaluate potential work assignments in New York state, Ohio, and Florida -- and with the advent of the new Federal Overtime Regulation, have some questions.

At issue, is whether I can continue to obtain overtime pay of (1.5 X) my normal hourly rate. I am not in management, and am classified as an "hourly" employee. Neither am I a member of any union. It is also rare that I ever make more than $ 100,000 annual, unless of course I am fully employed for 12 months at the assignment (at $ 56 per hour, extends to $116 K annual). But normally, there is a lot of "down" time between assignments -- for example, I have currently been out of work for over 4 months.

For that reason, I depend on the higher OT rate of $ 84 to play a bit of "catch up". And there have been many work assignments, where I did not even work OT, but it was still written into my contract at 1.5 X the standard hourly rate. This not only serves to protect my interests, but also provides a "governing" influence on my employer to perhaps think twice before expecting me to live at their facility to complete a huge workload. Certainly if they authorize the higher rate OT, I usually comply.

My understanding is that the new Federal Overtime regulation does not immediately take effect in many states. And even so, this Federal rule presents a minimum standard. Which may be superceded by a State regulation which is deemed more "generous". Is this correct ?