visitation non-custodial parent - New York

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• visitation non-custodial parent - New York

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My childrens' father recently got back in touch with us after almost 3 yrs. We had some domestic vio issues and he stayed away. To make a very long story short, he has made his decision to be back in their lives again. We've been able to speak as civilized parents and I've let him meet the girls at his aunts house. He also speaks to them via telephone after school and b4 bed.

Here's where it gets cloudy... He'd like to take them out on his own to the movies and possibly shopping which would be nice. His aunt (she's no lawyer) suggested that I notorize a letter stating he has permission, on whatever days we agree on, to take them during those days. I don't believe that holds any weight in case something goes down, but i'm no lawyer either.

Can someone give me some good advice on how to address this situation? I mean going to court seems like the best solution to me but I don't know if I can go through all of that again.

Originally posted by MsCase View Post
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My childrens' father recently got back in touch with us after almost 3 yrs. We had some domestic vio issues and he stayed away. To make a very long story short, he has made his decision to be back in their lives again. We've been able to speak as civilized parents and I've let him meet the girls at his aunts house. He also speaks to them via telephone after school and b4 bed.