Child support

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Child support

Hellow everyone, I am a pre med student..I have been jobless for about two months and havent sent cs. The mother of my babies mom tells me she is sleeping around non stop and stealing,, lying and blowing money up her nose. (cocaine) . I dont know what to do. I am in Arizona. I have no money to get a lawyer to see the baby. I dont wnat to send money at all!!1 I am not supporting a drug addict. her mom takes care of the baby and the mom works to sustain her habits. I have written a letter to her mom saying that i would support her in any way if she decides to take custody. Now if i want to sign my rights over,,, do both parents have to agree on this? If i sign my rights over do i still have to pay if the mother does not agree? I wont work to sustain a drug addict. If i knew her mother was taking care of her then that would be awesome but i know its not. The grandma is taking care of her.. what should i do? ive tried to get in contact with the courts over there but they say i need to be present in order to take her to court. Arizona to virginia is not right around the corner...

you cannot sign your rights over unless there is someone there to take them. You both cannot sign over rights to the grandma. If she is doing drugs, you need to report it to CPS and have them investigate. You cannot stop sending support because you don't want to support a drug habit- it doesn't work that way. You will need to petition the court to have it modified. Prove that the child is living with the grandmother, help the grandmother get custody and then pay support to the grandmother. You do not have to be there to file. Call some lawyers there. Most will offer a free phone consultation and at least tell you your options. Right now all you are doing is getting yourself in trouble for not paying support.

Comment

Have you been declared the child's legal father? Where is the child living?