This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Workers Comp is it required

I live in NJ. If you currently have a full time job can they require you to have workers compensation if you have any other part time jobs. Also is there a certain ammount of hours you must work in a part time job to need workers comp. I am just confused as to why my employer feels they need to require it does it benefit them in any way. No matter what i would have to burn off all available time off in my full time job. I appreciate any help that someone could give me.

I am completely confused. Are you an employee or an independent contractor? Why is your employer requiring that YOU carry workers comp insurance? Or am I misreading your post?
    The above answer, whatever it is, assumes that no legally binding and enforceable contract or CBA says otherwise. If it does, then the terms of the contract or CBA apply.

Comment

I am a full time firefighter. I work part time with my brother doing HVAC work. They are requiring that i have workers comp insurance through my outside employer. I only work maybe 24 hours or so a week. What i am trying to find out if they can legally deny me to work outside because i don't have workers comp through that outside employer.

Comment

You need to answer cbg's question, are you an employee working with your brother or are you an independent contractor---it makes a hugh difference to the answer you will get.
        Somedays you're the windshield and somedays you're the bug.

Comment

You have WC as a firefighter correct? Your employer, presumably the fire company, is requiring that you be covered under a WC policy when working a side job with your brother? If you are not covered under a WC policy there, they will not permit you to work as a firefighter for them? Do I have that correct?