No announcement yet.

WC versus HIPPA Federal

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• WC versus HIPPA Federal

Hello - I'm a HR and EHS Manager and I'm in a disagreement with the attorney for the company I'm employed with. She states an employee must sign a release from the attending provider if I am to receive any workers compensation paperwork as a result of a work related injury due to HIPPA and I said this is workers compensation not standard medical treatment. Please advise if I'm incorrect.

"... In the case of workers compensation, HIPAA Section 164.512(l) provides that a covered entity may disclose protected health information “as authorized by and to the extent necessary to comply with laws relating to workers’ compensation or other similar programs, established by law, that provide benefits for work related injuries.” As such, any disclosure would be subject to state law regarding workers compensation. There is no specific exception in HIPAA regarding disclosures for FMLA and ADA purposes. Therefore, covered entities usually require a valid patient authorization, pursuant to section 164.508, prior to disclosing employee protected health information to an employer for purposes of FMLA and ADA. - See more at:"

Generally you are correct but you do need to look at state laws in each state (and your WC carrier should know this information), and I do think it is best business practices on both the side of the medical facility and on the side of the employer. It's better to have that authorization signed than not, even if not required by any law. So in reality I think many medical facilities will require it to protect themselves.