California~ Workers Comp retaliation

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• California~ Workers Comp retaliation

New to the forum so I will try to elaborate my situation as best as possible.

Background, I've been working for a family owned buisness for the last 11 years. Originally hired as a laborer/driver my work schedule M-F 7-4 with seasonal OT required. Hired at the age of 32 I quickly moved up the ladder by year 4 with the company I was given a title of field manager in name only, as I was still required to do the same labor intensive duties required as when I was originally hired.

Over my time with the company I have amassed 5 WC claims 4 active and 1 closed (18% permanent rating) the 4 active include a double hernia(surgery required) 2 head traumas and the most recent a shoulder injury which I recieved a slap repair for on 4/1.

Upon returning to modified duty on 4/14 I was informed my work schedule would be changed PERMANENTLY to include working weekends with an hourly cut from 40 to 38 hours with no available OT.

I believe this to be in retaliation for my shoulder surgery being done at the begining of the companies busy season leaving the company scrambling to fill my position. I was upfront and let them know through the entire process leading up to my surgery they just failed to prepare and now I get the screwed schedule and loss of hours and potential OT. I'm a non confrontational individual by nature but I'm also at my wits end any suggestions would be appreciated and thanks in advance.

Did you return to work full duty or with restrictions? If it was with restrictions could that be the reason for your shift change and lack of OT?

Comment

Originally posted by HRinMA View Post
      Did you return to work full duty or with restrictions? If it was with restrictions could that be the reason for your shift change and lack of OT?