Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• WC Claim for mental health, coupled with workplace violence threats California

Hi,

In the course of doing my job I filed a routine incident report to our corporate offices in regards to possible subscription fraud (I work in the wireless phone industry). After filing the report one of the people named in it called me and threatened violence against me over the phone. I immediately reported that incident to our HR department and to my manager. The manager sent me home for my safety.

I don't know the true intentions of what the person that threatened me are, but I am afraid to return to work in any of the locations that we currently do business in as I feel that I could be jumped in the parking lot or something like that. I work in retail stores and my work schedule doesn't vary that much so if he wanted to act on his threats he could easily figure out where I am that day, especially if he is in contact with other co-workers who inform him of my work location.

There is little potential for alternative work, since at the moment my company does not have a "corporate office" in our area and all positions are field positions.

I'm pondering filing for WC since my mental health and stability has been greatly affected by this. I need help managing my stress levels and overcoming the fear of being attacked.

I don't want to quit the job, but that is another possibility. With the threat of violence I believe that counts as "just cause"

I just need some advice as to what course of action to take.

Have you reported this to the police?
    I am not an attorney, and don't play one on TV. Any information given is a description only and should be verified by your attorney.

Comment

I don't want to quit the job, but that is another possibility. With the threat of violence I believe that counts as "just cause"
      There may be just cause for quitting your job, and eligibility for UI benefits.