This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Outside work while out on WC District of Columbia

I am currently out of work on WC. I work as a restaurant manager and my shifts are a minimum of 10 hours, most of them standing. My employer will not allow me to come back to work until I can work a full shift. MY doctor says no, I cannot, "Stand or walk for more than 10 minutes and no lifting, bending or squatting."
    If I were to get some kind of part-time, very temporary work say, a couple of hours a week working on a computer, what kind of effect would this have both on my current benefits and in terms of future employment?
    Thanks in advance!

Generally speaking, any wages you earn while doing other work while on WC will reduce your WC benefits, assuming they find out about them. If you don't tell them and they DO find out, you're looking at WC fraud.

Relative to your future employment (I'm assuming you mean returning to the job at which you were hurt), that's up to your employer. Your current employer doesn't have any light duty work you can do?
    I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment

I realize that it would lower the amount I would get now; I am more concerned about future benefits. If I work a temporary computer job, one that would be within my doctors orders, when it ends would my benefits get cut off based on the premise that I should find another computer job?
      As far as light duty, my employer won't let you work a partial shift to go to the dentist or if you are injured/sick in any way that might keep you from completing your shift. (I am an exempt salaried employee.)
      Just as an after thought; what if I did find another computer job but one that paid substantially less than I make at my regular job. Does WC make any provision for the difference in pay?

Comment