This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• IME Exam

What is a IME evaluation? I injured my shoulder almost 6 months ago and I been on workers compensation ever since. I know it has something to do with their doctor but what kind of test will they perform? It is like 2 hrs away do I get travel time?
    What happens if their doctor tells me to go back to work or light duty and my doctor is telling me to keep doing physical therapy and not to work?
    What are the chances they will stop my benefits?
    Someone told me if I been out for more than 6 months they cant stop my payments is that true?
    Thank You

What state are you in? WC Laws vary by state. Your state will determine what compensation you are entitled to. Mileage and TTD for the day are pretty much standard though.

An IME is an Independent Medical Exam. Essentially, it is a second opinion performed by a non-treating physician. I can't tell you what tests they might perform as I am not a doctor, nor the one performing the exam. Crystal ball is still on the fritz

If the doctor releases you to light duty, and your employer can accommodate light duty, then your benefits can be cut off. If your doctor disagrees with this, then you can challenge the decision. How you do that varies by state. In no state can the carrier stop your benefits just because it has been 6 months. In nearly every state and with every carrier, the 6 month mark is about the time to look into an IME. You won't find that writen anywhere, but it is a common practice.

I don't know what your diagnosis is, but it is extremely unusual to be out for six months with not even a light duty release for a shoulder injury. Now if your employer does not offer light duty, then you would still be entitled to TTD if you can not perform yor regular job.