This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can you be terminated due to a WC claim? Pennsylvania

I'm a teacher and while leaning on a desk last April, it slid out and I wound up herniating my back (L5-S1). I began seeing one of the WC dr.'s listed with my employer and have done everything he has told me to...pain killers, rest, PT and epidural injections. None of these helped my pain, and I was refferred to see a spinal surgeon. During the summer, I got into an emotional funk and I think my dr. saw this. In August, he told me that I could try and go back to work for 5 hrs/day x 5days a week-with the knowledge that I may find that I'll be in too much pain to continue working and if that happened, I would have to go back out on WC. I was also to understand that this could change once I met w/the spinal surgeon.
    I spoke w/my employer and they said that they did not have a "light duty" position and therefore could not return to work. They told me that I could only come back to work when I was 100% and released from my dr. and during this time, I would continue to recieve WC benefits.
    At my next appt w/my dr., I informed him of my situation and asked him, "If I didn't have surgery, can you ever clear me to go back to work?" He shook his head, no, and then reassurred me that he felt the surgeon would feel that I was surgical.