This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Confused Satellite Tech

I work as a satellite TV technician for one of Dish Network's regional service providers. I am responsible for installing, upgrading, and servicing the satellite TV equipment at customer's homes. I work directly for this company, I am not a contractor or subcontractor.

My company uses a piece rate pay plan. I get paid X amount of money for job type A, and Y amount of money for job type B, etc... The pay is the same regardless of how long a given job takes.

The company, a corporation, I work for is based in Oklahoma. I also live in and I'm a resident of Oklahoma. I work at customer's homes in Oklahoma, Texas, and Arkansas. My company has offices in the three states I've mentioned. I'm technically based out of an office in Texas even though I only go there once weekly for a meeting and to pickup equipment for the next week. I keep a weeks worth of company equipment at my home because of the long drive (105 miles) from my house to the office. I am classified as an away tech by the company because I do not go to the office on a daily basis.

I start my day out by loading company equipment onto my truck at my house. I then drive to my first job. The time I arrive at this first job is what I've been told is my start time for the day and what I should put on my time card. I do the first job and continue on doing the others until I finish the last one that day. The time I leave the last job is my ending time for the day I have to put on my time card. I then come home and spend another two hours or so processing all of my paperwork into the computer and sending it to my company via the Internet. I then have to download new paperwork for the next day and print it. Once a week I have to inventory the equipment I have at my home and submit reports to my company.