Travel time pay New Jersey

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Travel time pay New Jersey

I am a service technician for a company that provides me with a company vehicle to travel to and from service calls. My day begins from home to my 1st appointment and then ends when I get home from my last appointment. My company recently changed their policy and now deducts 30 minutes travel in the morning and 30 minutes for the ride home. They told us it is considered a commute and we aren't to be paid door to door anymore. They are also requiring we take a lunch but they schedule the day in such away that there is never time to take one. We are also required to be on call on a rotating basis and they also deduct travel time for that too. An example is I left my home at 7 am and got home at 4 pm and would be paid for 8 hrs with a total of 60 minutes deducted for travel. I go on an emergency on call at 6 pm and arrive at 7 pm and get home at 8 pm I am paid for 1 hour. This is a new policy as we were paid door to door before. We are a very large company and every tech is very upset and confused. I was wondering if what they are doing is legal and if so I am ok with it but I would have to make a choice if I want to stay or not. Thanks for any help in advance!!

Under no law, state or Federal, do they owe you pay from home to the first appointment of the day, or from the last appointment of the day to home. If you have been getting pay for that time up to now you have been very, very lucky. The law does NOT guarantee you pay door to door.

Under no New Jersey or Federal law are you guaranteed a lunch break. What happens if you do not take one?
    The above answer, whatever it is, assumes that no legally binding and enforceable contract or CBA says otherwise. If it does, then the terms of the contract or CBA apply.

Comment