X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Salary vs. Hourly-New Jersey New Jersey

Hi,

We just acquired two companies in NJ. I am located in FL. They are currently classifying employees as Salary. However, if those "salary" employees work more than 40 hours on a seven days week they do not pay them OT but if they work less than 40 they get deducted. Is that in compliance?

MGG

You are over simplifying this. What are the job duties? Industry? CBA? under what circumstances would pay (as opposed to leave) actually be docked?
    I post with the full knowledge and support of my employer, though the opinions rendered are my own and not necessarily representative of their position. In other words, I'm a free agent.

Comment

You need to first determine if these employees' jobs are exempt or non-exempt.

Comment

The are non-exempt employees. They work at a pharmaceutical lab.
        Ex.
        1>if this employee work only 37hours -> get only 37hours
        2>if this employee work 45hours in weekdays-> get 40hours
        3>if this employee work 45 hours in weekdays and 8hours in weekend -> get 40 hours and 8 hours with the straight rate.

Comment

If they are non-exempt employees then they are entitled to overtime when they work more than 40 hours in a week, regardless of whether they are paid on salary or not. Salaried is only a pay method and has no legal authority of its own. The only thing that matters is whether they are exempt or not.
          The above answer, whatever it is, assumes that no legally binding and enforceable contract or CBA says otherwise. If it does, then the terms of the contract or CBA apply.

Comment

That is what I thought. Now, if they are exempt, can the pay them hourly if they work less than 40 hours a week (like 37)?

Comment