PTO deductions for exempt employees Nebraska

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PTO deductions for exempt employees Nebraska

I need some clarification re: PTO rules for exempt employees. Can PTO be charged for partial day absences? Not FMLA situations. for example, if a salaried employee takes half a day to attend a medical appointment, can four hours be deducted from PTO or pay?

Thanks!

PTO may be charged for partial day absences in every state.
    I post with the full knowledge and support of my employer, though the opinions rendered are my own and not necessarily representative of their position. In other words, I'm a free agent.

Comment

PTO is generally dependent on the employer's policy. The Fed govt only cares about the fact that the employee was paid all the wages due, not which bucket it comes from. So you really only get into issues if there is no PTO left to subtract out. Even then, you can only subtract out full days used for personal reasons if you want to deduct it from the pay unless it is FMLA related. FMLA is about the only reason you can subtract a partial days pay from an exempt employee.

Comment

Thanks so much for your response. Once PTO is exhausted, how should partial day absences be handled?

Comment

Thanks, HR for Me. I guess I have a follow-up question re: excessively frequent absenteeism. I have an exempt employee who has consistently worked on average less than 5 hours per day for the last six weeks. What can be done to curb this kind of exploitative behavior? He is an excellent employee otherwise but his work performance has suffered (as has morale since his subordinates are discouraged by his poor example).

Comment

You didn't state your relationship to the employee in question, but it should come from his boss/HR. Someone needs to confirm that he doesn't need FMLA for a covered reason if your company is covered.