Prevailing Wage Question. Pennsylvania

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Prevailing Wage Question. Pennsylvania

I work in the construction industry and the majority of the type of work I do is Pennsylvania Public Works.
    I have been with my current employer for a number of years now but have just stumbled onto something that I think may be a violation of the state prevailing wage laws.
    BUT before I make any inquiries I want to do as much research as possible before I accuse my employer of any wrong doing.
    I have done a fair amount of internet research but have come up short on answers.

Also, I have contacted the state under anonymity but haven't received much help because I do not want to identify myself, the employer, or the project, out of fear of retaliation.

Here's the situation.

There is absolutely no doubt that I am receiving the correct hourly wage for my classification. - No issue there.
    And I know I am receiving the correct wage rate as per the prevailing wage determination for this project. - Again, no issue there.

Now, here is the interesting part.

My fringe benefit rate is significantly lower then what the prevailing wage states it should be.
    This is according to my pay stub. There is a difference of about $15 per hour. This is a lot of money.

Now, I really have a hard time believing my employer would short change us in such a fashion. Also, could the difference be going else where that is not accounted for on my pay stub or in my pay check?

Any advice or insight into Pennsylvania Prevailing Wage Fringe Benefits would be a tremendous help.

I know this was a bit long winded. Thanks in advance for any help or advice!

Another thing I forgot to mention, I had a friend file a right to know request for the certified payrolls.
    These documents are a tad confusing but what I see is everyones Fringe Benefits are all over the place and no ones equals the prevailing wage rate for the correct fringe amount.